top of page
Silver state stampede
2024 Grand marshal ~ JAN PETERSEN

Silver State Stampede is proud to announce the 2024 Grand Marshal, Jan Pearce Petersen, a fifth-generation Nevadan, has been a dedicated professional in the museum field since 1989. Her career includes significant contributions at the Northeastern Nevada Museum, the California Trail Center, and culminated with her retirement as the director of the Cowboy Arts & Gear Museum on February 28, 2024. For the past 23 years, Jan has also served as the Youth Activities Director for the National Cowboy Poetry Gathering, showcasing her commitment to engaging young minds.

Jan's passion for history is evident in her love for research, storytelling, and presenting programs on local history. She enjoys giving cemetery tours in Elko and Tuscarora, and one of her favorite projects is the annual Ghost Tour organized by the Downtown Business Association.

As an author, Jan has co-written three books on northeastern Nevada's history. These works include Legacy of Silver and Saddles: G.S. Garcia to J.M. Capriola 1864-2004 with Paula Wright, DeeDee Garcia, and Linda Harris; The Silver State Stampede: 100 Years of Rodeo History in Elko with Sue Abel; and most recently, Ellison Ranching Company High Desert Empire 1910-2010 with Cyd McMullen.

Jan is an active member of the Nevada Museums and History Board, Preserve Nevada, PEO (promoting women's education), and the Presbyterian Church.

Jan and her husband, Dennis, who is also a native Nevadan, are proud parents of four children and have nine grandchildren who they adore spending time with.


The Silver State Stampede is thrilled to introduce Royce Hackworth as the Grand Marshal for the year 2023. Born in May 1953 in Pocatello, Idaho, Royce embarked on his journey in Elko County in 1973 when he secured his first job at the Jerritt Canyon mine, working for FMC Corporation. It was during this time that he decided to make Elko County his permanent home, captivated by the genuine nature of its people.

In 1979, Royce established Hackworth Drilling, a venture that would cement his status as a community businessman for the next 44 years. Royce's connection with the Silver State Stampede began through his secretary, Barbara Famer, who introduced him to the commemorative prints sold at the event. Barbara's husband, Don Farmer, contributed his artistic talent to many of these prints. Inspired by the rodeo's community aspect, Royce started sponsoring the event in 1991 and has remained a dedicated sponsor ever since.

Beyond his contributions to the rodeo, Royce has an impressive record in public service. In his only bid for office, he won 75% of the vote and served as a County Commissioner. Known for his passion for land rights and public land issues, Royce made significant strides during his tenure. Following his four years as County Commissioner, he continued to share his expertise by serving on the SLUPAC Board, advocating for responsible land management throughout Nevada.

Notably, Royce gained infamy as the "Elko County Boot Murderer." Several years ago, he experienced a medical condition that caused him to blackout while driving. Upon regaining consciousness, he found himself responsible for demolishing the Centennial Boot in front of Blohm Jewelers, with a street landscape tree atop his car. Responding with his characteristic humor, Royce quipped, "I don't see Billy Webb, so I must be okay."

When he's not busy with his professional endeavors, Royce indulges in his passions for hunting and fishing. His sense of humor is well-known to those who have the pleasure of knowing him. Royce believes that work is not only a means to connect with new people but also a way to assist and support them—a philosophy that underscores his commitment to the community. During his leisure time, Royce finds solace and adventure in the mountains, lakes, and streams of Nevada, where he indulges in his passion for fishing and hunting.

Royce cherishes his family, which includes two stepsons, Chance and Tyler Madigan, a son named Ian, a daughter named Brooke, and 11 grandchildren. Proudly, all three of his sons reside in Elko, while Brooke has made Boise her home.

For Royce, community involvement has been a cornerstone of his life in Elko County, and his deep connection to the rodeo reflects this sentiment. The Silver State Stampede Association expresses immense gratitude for Royce and his unwavering dedication to the rodeo throughout the years.

WT Bruce.JPG

W.T. Bruce was born in 1959 in Weiser Idaho and currently lives in Homedale Idaho. He grew up in a ranching family and was around rodeo from a very young age as his father produced rodeos in the 1930’s and 1940’s.  W.T. rodeoed in the 1970’s and 80’s and his event was saddle bronc. He didn’t take up photography until his daughters started participating in Junior and High School rodeo around 1999. WT. started taking pictures at the Silver State Stampede in 2005. He stated that he likes to photograph rodeos because it gets him back into the arena, just not on the back of a bucking horse. He previously photographed around 20 rodeos a year and now he has selected the top 5 to 7 each year. He is proud to say that he photographs The American, Pendleton Roundup and the Silver State Stampede. Outside of his photography business, W.T. owns a construction company specializing in apartment remodels throughout the state of Idaho. His greatest joy in life is being a proud Father of two daughters and has two beautiful grandchildren.


In 1998, Bell — who attended Spring Creek High School — was a junior and competed in the rough stock events of bareback riding and saddle bronc riding.

At the Carson City High School Rodeo, at Fuji Park, he was hung up during his bareback ride in the Sunday performance and was dragged around the arena before coming free.

“When I got up, I stepped on my heel and it felt like mush,” Bell said.

Almost immediately after, he climbed on his saddle bronc horse and broke his neck during the ride — leaving him paralyzed for the past 23 years.

“I’ve seen more good come from it than bad. I would give a lot of things to walk again, but I wouldn’t go back and change anything that has happened,” he said. “A lot of people have told me that I’ve been an inspiration to them and to others, and I’ve had some really cool opportunities.”

Andy Bell marks out a saddle bronc from the chute during a high school rodeo in the late 1990s. ELKO — More than two decades after a life-changing accident, Andy Bell — who was severely injured during a high school rodeo in Carson City is named the Grand Marshal

Past Grand Marshals

2023 Royce Hackworth

2022 W.T. Bruce

2021 Andy Bell

2020 Zeb Bell

2019 Don Newman

2018 Cashman Equipment Company

2017 Jim Pitts

2016 Marvin McDade

2015 Nelo Mori

2014 Walter Winchell

2013 Dean Rhoads

2012 Dee Dee Garcia

2011 Hank Filippini

2010 Silver State Stampede Board of Directors

2009 Floyd Slagowski

2008 Joann Murphy

2007 Betty Bear


2006 Tom Marvel

2005 Marge Prunty

2004 Bill Maupin

2003 Barbara Farmer

2002 Walt Leberski

2001 Lourinda Wines and Eddie Murphy

2000 Thelma Weaver

1999 Joann Wright

1998 Jack Walther

1997 George Smiraldo

1996 Rocky Roa

1995 Elias and Alice Goicoechea

1994 Loyd Sorensen

1993 Wayne Marteney


bottom of page